Listen to the children

In the very near future I am going to be a father.  I’ve watched my wife’s belly grow and put together the crib and at each stage I seem to say “now it feels real”.  I’m wrong and I know I’m wrong.  It won’t be real until I hold my son in my arms.

As I sit here and think about my nervousness and my excitement I wonder why I feel this way.  I have a theory that I want to share before it leaves my mind.  Children are the purist a human can ever be.  A new born does not know how to hate or to judge.  They know frustration, they know contentment, and very little else.  Everything else we seem to have made up.  Happiness a form of content and anger born from frustration.  We over complicate our lives with words and emotions that we have created or imagined. Couldn’t it be possible that “happiness” doesn’t exist in the way that we try to define it?  How many times have you said or heard said “I just wish I could be happy”?  But if you took away all of the preconceived notions of happiness, forgot everything you were told it should be would you still recognize it?  The only way to be sure would be to ask someone who had never been told such a word existed.

BABYBOY@30WKS_23BABYBOY@30WKS_19

This is why I am excited.  This is why I am nervous.  Someone with no preconceived notions can not share these truths with me.  This is why I stare at babies with wonder.  To me it is not the miracle of life which is also so amazing, but the idea that he will contain all the answers to who we are.  I have heard any people say that they have so much to teach their children.  How amazing could we be if we let them teach us?

Leave a Reply

