Top Down AND Side to Side

As a communitwitter-announcement-557x342ty focused person I have this Utopian anarchist dream that we will all get along and ‘do the right thing’. Which of course really means ‘everyone do what I want you to’. You can see where this might cause some issues. In my time attempts to rally the troops to the new intranet platform I did not take into account that most people need to feel secure and supported especially in new ventures. I really needed to guarantee that adopting a new method would be seen positively by our managers. Let’s face it. At the end of the day you need to make your boss happy to keep your job and hopefully get that next raise. Here I was trying to convince folks we should use the free time that we really didn’t have to work on something that no one had been asked to do.top down

Now jump to the present.  Two good things did come out of those efforts.  First, everyone is now educated about the new platform and no one was surprised when it appeared.  Sometimes sustaining business as usual can be the goal.  Second, my efforts were noted by management.  I have now been officially assigned to the TCE communications team.  This means that I have slightly more clout than I did before.  More importantly I have the opportunity to get buy in from executive management.  That doesn’t mean that I stop explaining why our new platform is so useful of that I need the teams buy in.  What it means is that I can now effectively communicate up down and side to side.  That brings me just a little closer to that utopia that I am never going to stop hoping for.

Leave a Reply

